Author Topic: Narrowing the limbs on recurve.  (Read 335 times)

Offline matt_w

• Trad Bowhunter
Narrowing the limbs on recurve.
« on: June 25, 2012, 10:35:00 AM »
I am building a bow and was shooting for 60 pounds and ended up getting 70 instead. The veneers were thicker than I thought and now I am wondering how I can drop the weight down a little on the bow. It's a 50s style recurve with 1.5 inch limb width. I am worried if the limbs get too narrow I might have some issues. Would it be alright to narrow it by 1/8 inch or so and how much weight would you guess that would drop it? Also, can I sand down the fiberglass a little to reduce the weight? I used .043 ULS glass. I'm pretty new to building and any advice is greatly appreciated.

Offline David Flanrey

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: Narrowing the limbs on recurve.
« Reply #1 on: June 25, 2012, 03:30:00 PM »
Matt,
I would start by trapping the back a little.  I have never tried it on a recurve but I trap all my d/r longbows. I would try trapping about 3/32 on each side of the limb with a file and smoothing it out with a sanding block.  Go nice and slow so you don't pull any glass splinters.

If this doesn't take enough weight off all you have to do is sand the trap flat which is essentially narrowing the limbs.

David

Offline strungstick

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: June 25, 2012, 07:38:00 PM »
I'd make sure your limb edges are rounded over like David suggest but don't hesitate to sand glass off both back and belly.  You have .043 on both sides to play with.  You can drop pounds on a recurve pretty quick sanding glass.  Sand evenly so you don't get any weak spots (usually with a rigid block) drop both sides glass down to .040 (if need be)and check draw weight as you go.  Narrowing the limbs can cause issues with stabitly especially if you are new to bow building.

Offline Robertfishes

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #3 on: June 25, 2012, 09:34:00 PM »