Author Topic: New bowyer  (Read 391 times)

Offline horsetooth

• Trad Bowhunter
New bowyer
« on: July 16, 2012, 01:45:00 PM »
hello everyone, Im a virgin bowyer getting ready to build my first bow. I have been a woodworker my whole life, and now I am inspired to create a bow.
I have been reading the Bowyers Bible and pouring over the internet trying to educate myself as much as possible, but now I think I just need some hands on.

My first bow is planned to be a hickory board bow.

My question to all of you is abound biased and edge ringed board staves.
I have found the best hickory "1x"2 I could find given my knowledge and source. i think it's a decent board. Im shooting for a low wieght, #30-#40 with length detemined after I read a little more in the TBB.

How does each not violate wood fibres? Or is this technically a violation, but with hickory or backed bows this ring violation is jsut not an issue?

Thanks, I will post many pics wonce I start making saw dust!

Offline Jomohr84

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: New bowyer
« Reply #1 on: July 16, 2012, 02:19:00 PM »
Howdy and welcome to the bench!

Flat-ringed boards should yield the safest bows, but try to find a board with the least amount of grain run off as possible and go for it. I am currently making a youth bow from a bias ringed red oak board, so we'll see how it turns out, I'm just about to start tillering.   Some of the vets here can probably tell you much more, but I say find the best board you can and start working, you'll learn a lot from the first bows you make.

Hickory is great bow wood, very strong in tension and I have read that hickory board bows even with violations are ok, especially at lower draw weights, so edge or bias ringed boards may be ok.  But Personally I would still try for flat ringed or a board with as few runoffs as possible.
Jonathan Mohr

Offline Jomohr84

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: July 16, 2012, 04:15:00 PM »