Author Topic: glass on a board bow?  (Read 249 times)

Offline ffdiggs

• Trad Bowhunter
glass on a board bow?
« on: August 12, 2012, 12:41:00 PM »
Looking for a little spiritual guidance!! I recently finished up a red oak bow that I am making for a good friend that was shot in the arm a few years back during black powder. Needless to say his arm strength is not what it used to be. but he's still in the game hunting. I was keeping the poundage on the low end for him, but might be to low. Bow is 68" tip to tip, pulls 46lbs. at 28". I am pretty new to bow making as this is only my fourth finished working bow out of a half dozen tries. My others are all Hickory pull heavier poundage. My question is can I put clear glass on the back of the bow to increase poundage? The back of the bow is flat and smooth, except for the last 4" where I ever so slightly flipped the tips. You almost cant tell I did. I was gonna use rawhide but I have a really awsome stain treatment I'm gonna do and I dont want to cover it up with rawhide. Thought maybe clear glass would be the way to go. In essence killing two birds with one bow, increased poundage and still show off awesome finish. Any advice appreciated. Thanks
"The Man, The Myth, The Moustache"

Online Pat B

• TG HALL OF FAME
  • Trad Bowhunter
Re: glass on a board bow?
« Reply #1 on: August 12, 2012, 01:10:00 PM »
Glass will probably overpower the red oak causing more problems. You could remove the last inch or two from each limb tip and reshape the tips. This should get the weight near 55# mol.
  A hickory or elm backing will also increase the draw weight without overpowering the red oak.
Make the most of all that comes and the least of all that goes!
TGMM Family of the Bow

Offline Grey Taylor

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: August 12, 2012, 02:09:00 PM »
Wouldn't you consider 46# to be heavy enough for deer?

Guy
Tie two birds together; though they have four wings, they can not fly.
The Blind Master

Offline LESKEN2011