Author Topic: My first Yew Stave Project....  (Read 5757 times)

Online Roy from Pa

• Administrator
  • Trad Bowhunter
My first Yew Stave Project....
« on: September 30, 2012, 10:10:00 PM »
Thanks to a special friend from Bend, Oregon. I now have in my possession my first Yew Stave ever. I have been building nothing but BBO Bows for 10 years. So this will be uncharted waters for this ole boy, and any advice will be appreciated greatly.

The stave has natural deflex, as you can see from the pictures below.

The sap wood to heart wood ratio looks good to me as it is now. But what do I know? I am shooting for a 40 to 45 pound bow at 27.5 inches of draw. The stave right now it 70 inches long. I'm thinking a 66 inch bow is what I want.

Online Roy from Pa

• Administrator
  • Trad Bowhunter
Re: My first Yew Stave Project....
« Reply #1 on: September 30, 2012, 10:28:00 PM »
Now I have two choices here in my opinion. Leave the natural deflex as it is, and induce reflex from the mid limbs out to the tips.

Or, heat the handle section and clamp the stave down flat to make it a straight stave, then do the reflex from mid limbs out.

I think I would be better off leaving the natural deflex alone, and adding the reflex from mid limb on out. Plus I love flipping the tips, which really doesn't have anything to do with adding reflex I guess.

Since it's a one piece stave, I could do a bend in the handle bow, heck it's already got that now I suppose:) But I have never done a bendy handle bow either! And at 40 to 45 pounds, I don't see the handle area getting all that much stress anyways being if I make it 66 inches long... And the way I layout my riser section, I keep what ever my flare width is, the same width out another 6 inches, then do my straight taper to the limb tips.

Now how wide should I make the flares, and how narrow should I make the tips? On BBO's I make the flares 1 1/4 and hold that out 6 more inches, then taper to 1/2 at the tips.