Author Topic: First bow NEED A LOT OF HELP!  (Read 483 times)

Offline snakebit40

• Trad Bowhunter
First bow NEED A LOT OF HELP!
« on: October 15, 2012, 10:52:00 PM »
Hey everybody! I haven't been on the bench for awhile cause I haven't had time to even think about building a bow lately. It would drive me crazy if I'd been looking here and couldn't try building. So now that I have time I need some help!

This is my first attempt at an osage selfbow. Truth be told I've never built a bow that hasn't broke yet. I REALLY  don't want this one to break. So I'm asking all of you for help. I really like to handle on the Hill bows, so I would like the handle like them. I'm going to have to flip the tips cause it's so short.

My bow- 66" from end to end. Is it right that after I put the nocks on it'll be considered 64" from tip to tip?

I would like it to be as close to 55-60 @28 as possible. How wide should I make it? How thick should I have it? What should I taper the tips down to?

Here's my bow-

This is the width at the handle-

It was this width when I got it, so I hope it's not to narrow.

Here's a pic of the narrowest point about 8 inches below the middle of the bow-

Are these knots on the edge of the bow-

Are they going to be ok?

Is the middle of the bow going to be the middle of the handle? Or the arrow shelf?

As you can see I need A LOT of help! Thanks ALL!
Jon Richards

Isaiah 6:8 Then I heard the voice of the Lord saying, “Whom shall I send? And who will go for us?”
And I said, “Here am I. Send me!”.
>>>>------------>
Schafer Silvertip 71@28
Big River 60" 59@28

Offline Black Mockingbird

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: First bow NEED A LOT OF HELP!
« Reply #1 on: October 16, 2012, 06:25:00 AM »
It wood take a book to answer all those questions properly. Check out dean torges hunting the osage bow and the traditional bowyers bibles vol one and two. Do some more reading and research( lots of good build alongs out there),and then come back and ask questions.