Author Topic: Lam grinding belt sander choices  (Read 778 times)

Offline sticknstring73

• Trad Bowhunter
Lam grinding belt sander choices
« on: October 17, 2012, 01:12:00 PM »
I am just starting out making laminated bows and am very interested in grinding my own lams. After looking at several options on this site (you're all much better wood workers than I am BTW) and after having a hard time getting accurate results with the drill press method I feel that the best option for me would be to get a small belt/disc sander and build a box to put it in the way Sam Harper has done it on his poorfolkbows.com site. As I look around though there are a lot of options for these types of machines. Is anyone here also doing it with that method and if so which machine did you get?

I looked at a Ryobi and there was a nut in the way of where I would put the table. Harbor Freight has a cheap one but after looking it up on youtube it looks like it needs too much work out of the box. I am currently looking at the Grizzly G0547. Any thoughts?     :confused:

Offline macbow

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: Lam grinding belt sander choices
« Reply #1 on: October 18, 2012, 10:11:00 AM »
Since you have to buy something new anyway why not consider a real thickness sander?

I have a small thickness sander built using a drum. The biggest problem is being able to have the material move through at a steady feed rate. I can't do very well hand feeding.
I don't build glass laminated,bows anymore but could use a thickness sander for my bamboo backed wood slats.
United Bowhunters of Mo
Comptons
PBS
NRA
VET
"A man shares his Buffalo". Ed Pitchkites

Offline Tom Leemans

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: October 18, 2012, 11:12:00 AM »
Grizzly's 6X48 - 9" sander is a better machine, but it depends on your budget.
Got wood? - Tom

Offline beachbowhunter

• TG HALL OF FAME
  • Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #3 on: October 18, 2012, 04:58:00 PM »
This is what I picked up. Love it.