Author Topic: newbie needs help  (Read 796 times)

Offline Whitehawk23

• Trad Bowhunter
newbie needs help
« on: November 18, 2012, 02:26:00 PM »
How's it going I'm very new to traditional archery but I'm very intrigued with the idea of building something and goin hunting with something you built with your own hands. anyways I'm about to go to Lowe's to pick up some red oak for my first board bow. I just need help with the glue on riser and arrow shelf. if someone's got a diagram or something that would defiantly help. thankd
"Good enough" is never good enough

Offline macbow

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: newbie needs help
« Reply #1 on: November 18, 2012, 04:55:00 PM »
Don't have a diagram.
After marking center. I mark 2 inches to each side for a 4 inch handle. Then 2 more inches on each side for the,fades..
Total of 8 inches.
I like to glue up my handle and fade combo with several 1/4 inch or less thick laminations. Better luck keeping the handle from popping off later.

The shelf is what ever you want. I've used no shelf shooting off the hand to glue on leather shelves to cut in shelves.
I just put the bow in my hand after shaping the handle and mark just above my hand maybe 1/8 inch.  This keeps it where there is plenty of thickness for strength.
United Bowhunters of Mo
Comptons
PBS
NRA
VET
"A man shares his Buffalo". Ed Pitchkites

Offline Whitehawk23

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: November 20, 2012, 12:20:00 AM »
Awesome advice thinks. I just started my first bow ever and I messed up the width so now its waaayyy to skinny. but hey that's how you learn right? Well I really do appreciate the advice

Online Roy from Pa

• Administrator
  • Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #3 on: November 20, 2012, 12:52:00 AM »

Online Roy from Pa

• Administrator
  • Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #4 on: November 20, 2012, 12:59:00 AM »
I glue on leather for an arrow rest.

Offline Whitehawk23

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #5 on: November 20, 2012, 02:06:00 AM »