Author Topic: Copying a 59 Kodiak?  (Read 308 times)

Offline LC

• Trad Bowhunter
Copying a 59 Kodiak?
« on: December 07, 2012, 06:59:00 PM »
So I'm a guy who just likes to make his own stuff. I've been making my own TD recurves for about 12 years and it's all I've used since rolling my own. I also make my own knives, arrows,strings, fletching, do my own taxidermy, butchering etc. I've always had a desire to own shoot hunt with a 59 Kodiak. Now that Bear brought it back out I've just fell in love all over again with that bow. I've never sold a bow, knife or anything else I've made just to be clear ( have donated to St Judes auction though) so I'm not out to make money on this venture. My question  has anyone here ever tried to copy this bow? Any help suggestions or tips. I presently have in my possesion a  borrowed  original  59 Kodiak in 64" amo at 45lb but I'd much rather make a 60" bow. Anyone have a idea if I shorten this design by 4" how much weight I'd gain?
Most people get rich by making more money than they have needs, me, I just reduced my needs!

Offline heartlandbowyer

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: Copying a 59 Kodiak?
« Reply #1 on: December 07, 2012, 11:08:00 PM »
I have'nt had a lot of experience with recurves but on hybrid r/d bows I get 2.5 to 3 lbs increase with every inch removed so I bet you'll gain 10 to 12 lb increase on 60 inches.
Are ya planning on changing the riser only and leaving the limbs alone?

Offline LC

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: December 09, 2012, 07:58:00 PM »