Author Topic: New Guy from St. Louis  (Read 493 times)

Offline SwampEagle

• Trad Bowhunter
New Guy from St. Louis
« on: December 17, 2012, 02:18:00 PM »
Hi there.

I was just referred to this site by a friend of mine.  I was a bow hunter a long time ago before I went away to the Air Force in 1987. Now, my twin 11 year old girls recently took an interest in archery and I have had them in a Junior Olympic Archery program here in town.  They have done really well shooting the rental gear and we just signed them up for another program starting in January.

I have been a woodworker and general shop tinkerer for quite a while now and I run a side business out of my shop cutting composites for multicopters (Google it).  Essentially running 2 CNC routers at a time and shipping out boxes of parts to my distributors.  

All that to say, this.  I have a lot of time while the machines are running jobs and rather than staring at them, I need to do something.  I think I can kill a few birds with one stone.  My girls really like recurves they have been shooting at the range.  I would love to have a go at making a bow for myself and then once I have done some learning, make them a couple of nice light bows.  

My plan is to use my CNC's where possible.  Things like form templates, riser templates, etc.  I might even have a go at designing up a some details in CAD and letting the machines have a go at some prototype handles.  Not really necessary, but I am like that.  I enjoy figuring things out, learning new things, and finding new ways to use my machines.

Sorry for me long-winded first post.  Also, if there is anyone in the area that wouldn't mind a little mentoring of a beginner, hanging out and making sawdust, visiting my little shop, or just drinking some beers, give me a shout.

Take care,
Matt

Offline Shaun

• TG HALL OF FAME
  • Trad Bowhunter
Re: New Guy from St. Louis
« Reply #1 on: December 17, 2012, 02:52:00 PM »