Author Topic: Looking for bowyer wisdom, new to the art!  (Read 602 times)

Offline GodsApocalypse

• Trad Bowhunter
Looking for bowyer wisdom, new to the art!
« on: January 10, 2013, 09:53:00 PM »
This is my first thread here at tradgang!

I am excited to be part of tradgang, and I am new to the art of bowyering.

I have been looking at materials for building my first several bows, and I had some questions that maybe you wiser bowyers could answer...

What, in your opinion is the best bow hardwood for a recurve (target shooting)?  Yew, I have heard is  very popular.  Is Ibe (ironwood) usable for this purpose?  Are there hybrid tree sources yew/ibe, etc?

I have several design concepts for bows that I would like to turn into real working/functional bows.  Can someone point me in the right direction on how to (or who can) modify the concept bows to functional real-world application?  Thanks!
Our prayers should be for blessings in general, for God knows best what is good for us. ~Socrates

Online kennym

• TG HALL OF FAME
  • Trad Bowhunter
Re: Looking for bowyer wisdom, new to the art!
« Reply #1 on: January 10, 2013, 09:59:00 PM »
Welcome Nathan!  :campfire:  

Are you gonna build  glass bows or selfbows , or board bows?

kenny- aka- not so wise builder.....  :D
Stay sharp, Kenny.

https://www.kennysarchery.com/

Offline GodsApocalypse

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: January 10, 2013, 10:05:00 PM »
Is anyone familiar with the hardwood Kiri tree?  

Opinions on Teak/Tectona?

Guaiacum officinale (lignum vitae) - reasonable to use?  Opinions?

Goncalo Alves / Tiger ebony (Astronium Graveolens) opinions?
Our prayers should be for blessings in general, for God knows best what is good for us. ~Socrates

Offline GodsApocalypse

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #3 on: January 10, 2013, 10:10:00 PM »
Hi Kenny,
Thanks for the welcome and quick reply!
I believe the self bow is the term closest to what I am looking to build.