Author Topic: How Creative Can You Be?  (Read 297 times)

Offline Erwincm

• Trad Bowhunter
How Creative Can You Be?
« on: February 02, 2013, 11:08:00 PM »
I am a new member who just finished building my first TD recurve from Bingham Projects. Building my own bow and shooting it with accuracy afterwards was perhaps one of the most rewarding projects of my life. It was really great making something with style, beauty, and utility that has been appreciated by all who have seen it.

I'm hooked and I'm already contemplating my next bow design. I'd like my next bow to include a riser design of my own. Obviously I'd like to continue to use the Bingham limb design since it is presumably a proven design and I've already fabricated my limb form tool. In terms of the riser design, can anyone tell me the rules of engagement? I'm new to archery so I'm totally in the dark here. For example, what's the riser length range, what's the sight window height range, how deep should the shelf be, where should the top of the shelf lie with respect to the string center, is there anything special about the riser profile shape or am I free to do as I wish, etc? Is there a guidelines of some sort for TD recurve riser/bow design that illustrates critical dimensions?

Thanks in advance for your help. Looking forward to being a part of this group. Special thanks to the admin for hosting the forum!

Regards,
Charles Erwin
Madison, AL

Offline talkingcabbage

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: How Creative Can You Be?
« Reply #1 on: February 02, 2013, 11:30:00 PM »
With the Bingham's design, as well as any other TD, lengthening or shortening the riser will affect the draw weight and performance, as will changing the limb pad angle.  I would suggest keeping those the same, unless you're up for some experimenting.  Really, any of the changes you mentioned will change how the bow performs, the accuracy, the draw weight, arrow flight, etc.
Joe

"If your work speaks for itself, don't interrupt."