Author Topic: Osage Orange SB...need tips  (Read 751 times)

Offline RedStag5728

• Trad Bowhunter
Osage Orange SB...need tips
« on: February 09, 2013, 03:14:00 PM »
Hey guys, I attended a bow workshop down in appomattox, va Feb 3-6th instructed by Alton Hill and there he taught me and a fellow student how to build a bow from scratch (raw stave) the traditional way (no power tools).

And here's the result!

Now as you can see the upper limb has a slight reflex/deflex and the lower limb is straight. I was planning on making a reflex/deflex form for this bow (my first self-bow) to get both limbs to have the same shape. To what extent should I go about doing so? I mean what would be the recommended dimensions of the form and how much should I bend it? I don't want to mess up and ruin this bow as it is my very first build and she's a beauty!

Once I get her complete (Want to get a reflex/deflex on both arms and still need to apply finish), then I can measure her pulling weight.

What would you guys recommend?

Thanks,

Randy

*Edit* PS: She's 63" NtN and Osage Orange, and would you guys recommend a backing or bare?
Randy
CTA RedStag LB 64" ntn 57# @ 28"
Hickory SB (#2) 64" ntn 43# @ 28"
Hickory East Woodland SB 65# @ 27"
Darkside Laminated LB 50# @ 28"
Darkside Laminated LB 37# @ 28"

Offline Pat B

• TG HALL OF FAME
  • Trad Bowhunter
Re: Osage Orange SB...need tips
« Reply #1 on: February 09, 2013, 03:21:00 PM »
Randy, congrats on your new bow. Looks like you did a nice job with it.
 I wouldn't bother adding the deflex but just reflex the outer 1/3 of each limb about 3". The bow will take on some deflex as you break it in so thats why I wouldn't add any.
 Will you post pics of the back shape and a braced pic? How long is the bow?
Make the most of all that comes and the least of all that goes!
TGMM Family of the Bow

Offline Pat B

• TG HALL OF FAME
  • Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: February 09, 2013, 03:22:00 PM »