3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: Leupold Katmai 6 x 32  (Read 990 times)

Offline J-F

• Trad Bowhunter
Leupold Katmai 6 x 32
« on: February 07, 2007, 12:26:00 PM »
Hi,

Being my first post, I should do a little bit of presentation.

My name is Jean-Francois (J-F, it’s easier) and I am a French (sorry   :D   leaving in England (better!   :saywhat:   at the moment.
I am quite new to bowhunting compare to a lot of you guys, and I like this tradgang forum and the atmosphere of tradbowhunting!!!!!!

Back to the subject:
Bowhunting quite dense areas in France after roe deer and wildboar, I am after a not too heavy low power pair of binoculars.

At the moment I have a 10x25 High Grade from Nikon. This is TOP compact binocular, and you can trust me they are better (the 10 x 25!!) than the Leica (couldn’t compare with Swarovski, neither with Zeiss, but better than Leica, well from my experience and point of you anyway).

But 10x25 is nice in open field, but god in the wood after 1 hour, I am getting sick with them, and at the end I am not using them enough which is a big mistake. 8 x 20 would do better, and 6 x 20 even more I suppose. Problem: we can't find a 6x easely in any trademark.There was a 7 x 30 within Swarovski, but not anymore apparently.

I have heard some nice comments about the Leupold Katmai 6 x 32, but before buying them I would like to know if in your opinion:

1-they are easy to use one handed? Not too small? Not too hard when focussing? (my Nikon is not easy at all one handed whith a glove when you have to focus, which happen quite often with a 10 x in a dense wood!! )