Author Topic: Nootka bow  (Read 315 times)

Offline pres

• Trad Bowhunter
Nootka bow
« on: March 28, 2013, 11:49:00 AM »
I am new to bow building and I am interested in all wood bows.  I've built about 25 bows with varying results.  I read all the volumes of the TBB and slowed down on the process in hopes of getting a better result.  One design that intrigues me is the Nootka design.  Curved back, ribbed belly.  I've built 2 experiments so far both of red oak.  The first one was lightning fast for 25 shots!  Crack.  The second one is longer and wider out of an oak board.  74", 3 1/2" wide, and drew 83 pounds at 28".  I tillered down to 55# to save my shoulder.  Has anyone else built something similar?

Offline bornofmud

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: Nootka bow
« Reply #1 on: March 28, 2013, 02:17:00 PM »
I haven't built any, but I sure would love to see some pictures of the ones you built!

Offline michaelschwister

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: March 30, 2013, 03:34:00 PM »
I used to do alot of experimentation.  I now build only fiberglass/wood laminated hybrid and osage selfbows (Torges style with a tweak or two) These are two are the most durable and funstional bows IMHO. When you go for speed, or use any wood other than osage for a selfbow dissapointment will eventually find you.
"The best thing to give to your enemy is forgiveness; to a friend, your heart; to your child, a good example; to a father, deference; to your mother, conduct that will make her proud of you; to yourself, respect" - Benjamin Franklin

Offline michaelschwister

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #3 on: March 30, 2013, 03:35:00 PM »
Where do you live in VA?
"The best thing to give to your enemy is forgiveness; to a friend, your heart; to your child, a good example; to a father, deference; to your mother, conduct that will make her proud of you; to yourself, respect" - Benjamin Franklin

Offline pres

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #4 on: April 01, 2013, 09:01:00 PM »