Author Topic: BBO glueup  (Read 617 times)

Offline Canadabowyer

• Trad Bowhunter
BBO glueup
« on: April 22, 2013, 05:42:00 PM »

Heres the BBO glue up. Being lazy I decided to use the spring clamps. I don't have a million little pieces of bamboo yet because this is my first try.I built an adjustable form a la Dean Torges then made one tapered set of osage lams and two parallels. The lay up back to belly is Bamboo, taper, parallel, parallel.I also tapered the bamboo from centre to tips. Now I have to wait to see what I have.  :knothead:    :bigsmyl:  Bob
"non illegitimus carborundum est"

Offline Buemaker

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: BBO glueup
« Reply #1 on: April 22, 2013, 06:19:00 PM »
Interesting, and don't let the bastards grind you down   ;)   Bue-..

Offline D.Ellis

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: April 22, 2013, 06:23:00 PM »
Looking forward to seeing this one.
Darcy
60# GN Lil'Creep Jackknife
67# osage selfbow
62# "Zang Hill" string follow

Online Roy from Pa

• Administrator
  • Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #3 on: April 22, 2013, 07:21:00 PM »
Not too shabby, Bob. I like the airplane too:)

Offline Troy D. Breeding

• SPONSOR
  • Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #4 on: April 22, 2013, 07:31:00 PM »
What glue did you use for the glueup. Had a customer ask what glue to use today. When I built backed bows I always used smooth-on. At that time in my bow building the only wood glue I could easly get was Elmers wood glue and I wasn't about to chance it.

Troy
Troy D. Breeding
 www.WoodGallery295.net

Retirement ain't what it's cracked up to be.

Online Roy from Pa

• Administrator
  • Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #5 on: April 22, 2013, 07:37:00 PM »
Troy Troy, look at the bottom right corner of the picture ole boy. He used Spray Gun glue:)    :knothead:      :bigsmyl:

Roy

Roy

Offline Bert Frelink

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #6 on: April 22, 2013, 08:54:00 PM »
Robert,
PM me your mailing address and I will send you some Boo pieces for your play room. :bigsmyl:  
Bert.