3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: Old Timers Only  (Read 2736 times)

Offline longbowman

• Trad Bowhunter
Old Timers Only
« on: February 07, 2007, 02:46:00 PM »
Reading some of the topics got me thinking (which is seldom and dangerous) about my journey through the bowhunting world around me and thought it would be great to read some of the other "life journeys" from some of you older guys.  So if you haven't hunted with a bow since "before compounds" this isn't for you.

I started shooting things with a bow in 1964.  I watched the bowhunting world change around me and then come back again.  I'm starting to believe there really is never anything new but history just repeating itself.  I'm in my mid 50's now and shoot year round still.  I've traveled to the west and have taken bull elk, mulies, black bear and many whitetails with both longbows and recurves. My son, who is 29, is a longbow shooter and has become a fine hunter.  I currently shoot an 80's vintage Bear T.D. @ 70# and a customer longbow at 80#.  I went from ground hunting, before the avent of treestands, to treestand hunting and now hunt 75% from the ground again.  I hunt to kill the animal I'm hunting.  I don't need to kill to have a good hunt.  I like the term "bowhunting" and dislike the term "traditional bowhunting".  I've been around long enough to know that the term bowhunter doesn't have anything to do with equipment and shouldn't have but rather the heart of the person hunting.  Finally, I'm actually old enough to already know some of the things that Gene Wensel talks about in his book "Come November" as being common sense.

Offline JEFF B

• TGMM Member
  • Trad Bowhunter
Re: Old Timers Only
« Reply #1 on: February 07, 2007, 03:01:00 PM »
'' sometimes i wake up Grumpy;