Author Topic: Gluing bocote  (Read 348 times)

Offline LittleBen

• Trad Bowhunter
Gluing bocote
« on: May 16, 2013, 09:43:00 AM »
I'm planning a new bow, it'll be a one piece  wood bow, 4 lams, white oak, maple, maple, ipe. The belly lams will run up the fades. I'm considering using abocote riser block.

I'm wondering whether TBIII will bond sufficiently to bocote? I have never tried it before. Any experience?
I'd rather not have to buy/use a 2 part glue like urac or smooth-on. Mainly because I don't have a great work area and I will be sleeping on the streets if I get epoxy all over the floor.

Offline bowhntineverythingnh03743

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: Gluing bocote
« Reply #1 on: May 16, 2013, 09:45:00 AM »
Glue up outside... there problem solved!!! Unibond or urac works the best. Wouldn't trade it for anything else. Good Luck tho.

Offline LittleBen

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: May 16, 2013, 11:33:00 AM »
Have you used Urac on Bocote?

I've never had a problem with TBIII but bocote seems to be a totally different beast than other hardwoods. Ipe, Jatoba, Shedua, maple, oak, bamboo, hickory, etc etc are no problem for normal TBIII.

Offline Mike Most

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #3 on: May 16, 2013, 01:12:00 PM »
Interesting post, I have glued up lots of bacote with Smooth on Epoxy, and after having watched lots of the posts reference different glue ups over that past months. Glue goes everywhere, even mine. So, I would say adequate preparation is the key. I wouldnt want to invest in a high dollar block of fancy wood and have it separate because it wasnt compatable with the glue. the only issue I ever had was being outside down here in the south with temps hovering around 97 in the shade. Trying to glue up a 6 lamination bow, and the working time on the glue is getting really close to being up...   :thumbsup:
"It Shall be Life" (Ten Bears to Josie Wales)
------------------                Michael Most-Adkins Texas

Offline bowhntineverythingnh03743

• Trad Bowhunter