Author Topic: Bamboo red oak  (Read 321 times)

Online Razorbak

• TGMM Member
  • Trad Bowhunter
Bamboo red oak
« on: May 17, 2013, 09:34:00 AM »
Has anyone made a bow by using a red oak board from Home Depot with bamboo backing before and how was it?  I have a hickory board but notice it has some knots in board and unsure if it would be workable . I'm a extreme newbie at building bows   I have a few red oak boards to learn in as that's all available in my area and the few wood specialty stores I have looked at has nothing that would work as either way to short or warped or cut  wrong
TGMM Family of the Bow

Offline LittleBen

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: Bamboo red oak
« Reply #1 on: May 17, 2013, 09:39:00 AM »
Not a good plan.

Red oak is a marginal bow wood because it is not strong in compression. It is already much stronger in tension than it is in compression.

Adding a very strong backing will not improve things.

You could always go and cut down a tree. You should have plenty of sugar maple in NH.

My rocommendation is crank out some simple board bows and then spend some money on some bamboo backing and some ipe or osage once your confident it wont be destroyed.

Online Razorbak

• TGMM Member
  • Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: May 17, 2013, 10:13:00 AM »
That's what I thought. So scratch that idea. LOL. I would go cut some but I can't walk that far in woods due my knees and leg. Still healing from work injury going on 3 1/2 years now. I will look into some wood somewhere. Thanks for the info   It will save some aggravation
TGMM Family of the Bow

Offline razorback

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #3 on: May 17, 2013, 11:03:00 AM »
Art, was wondering how you were healing, hope things are looking up for you. You could use the hickory board and put the bamboo backing on that. This is supposed to be a very good combination. Advice I got was to drill out the knots and plug them before putting backing on. Should give you a great bow. Post some pics of these bows you got done.