Author Topic: Had a good day  (Read 334 times)

Offline takefive

• Trad Bowhunter
Had a good day
« on: May 18, 2013, 03:51:00 PM »
I had a day off yesterday, which is always good no matter what I do (or don't do) and I spent some time working on my tri-lam.  Thanks to the Amazing Gizmo, I'm pretty happy with the tiller and it came in just a few pounds over the 45# I was hoping for.  This is my first attempt at one of these so I just guessed at the thickness and taper for the walnut core.  Wishing I had a do over on that    :rolleyes:   If I try another one, it will be an eighth thinner and taper faster from the fades.  Keeping my fingers crossed once again.  I shot about 30 arrows thru it and like the way it shoots.  Just hoping the osage is thick enough on the belly and holds up.  Went to my local Woodcraft store in the afternoon and found a great hickory board for $25.  Grain looks really straight and clear and it's a whopping 5 1/2" by a full inch and 8 feet long.  Had to put my favorite beverage in the pic.  Yep, it's soda pop.  Stewart's makes the finest cream soda on the planet     :cool:

It's hard to make a wooden bow which isn't beautiful, even if it's ugly.
-Tim Baker

Offline Echatham

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: Had a good day
« Reply #1 on: May 18, 2013, 04:13:00 PM »
takefive thats pretty!  is that your first tri-lam?  i want to try one. I suppose its kinda the same as making a glass bow right?  have to get your lam thickness right before glue up and tiller by taking meat off the limb width?

Offline takefive

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: May 18, 2013, 06:22:00 PM »
Thanks Eric.  Yes, it's my first try at one.  I did end up having to scrape some off the osage belly cuz I just guessed at the core thickness and taper and made that too thick.  Livin' and learnin'  :-)
-Tim Baker

Online Roy from Pa

• Administrator
  • Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #3 on: May 18, 2013, 07:02:00 PM »
I guess it's Ok.   :laughing:

Offline Trapper Rob

• Trad Bowhunter