Author Topic: Novice Board Bow Question  (Read 401 times)

Offline JoeB

• Trad Bowhunter
Novice Board Bow Question
« on: May 31, 2013, 12:04:00 PM »
I"m a complete novice at this, so please excuse the very basic question.

I'll be trying my hand at a board bow, but I've read contradictory articles regarding bow backs.

I'm going to try an unbacked bow from oak or maple.

The question I have is this.

Do I need to make sure the back of the bow is along a single growth ring?

The bowyer's bible says yes, many videos and articles say no....

Offline LittleBen

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: Novice Board Bow Question
« Reply #1 on: May 31, 2013, 12:09:00 PM »
You dopnt need to follow a growth ring. A board will not follow th growth rings. It needs to be very straight grained.

Offline Bowjunkie

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: May 31, 2013, 12:13:00 PM »
No.

The board can be flatsawn, quartersawn, or riftsawn as long as there are no(or very minimal) runouts in either direction.

If there are no runouts and it is flatsawn, you could chase out a single growth ring for the back, but it's not necessary.

Offline JoeB

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #3 on: May 31, 2013, 12:14:00 PM »
Thank you LittleBen,

I was worried that I would have to find a board that would allow for following a ring and that seemed impossible.

So, straight, tight and parallel grain is what I need?

Offline JoeB

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #4 on: May 31, 2013, 12:23:00 PM »
Another question while I'm at it.

Is it OK to cut in an arrow shelf on a board bow?

Seems all the board bows I've seen have no shelf

Offline LESKEN2011

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #5 on: May 31, 2013, 01:22:00 PM »