Author Topic: Backing question  (Read 408 times)

Offline jflars

• Trad Bowhunter
Backing question
« on: June 02, 2013, 11:17:00 PM »
I'm new to bowmaking so bear with me. I worked up a red oak board and was trying for about 35 to 40 lbs but it turned to be about 25. I haven't backed it yet and was wondering what to do it with that might up the poundage. Is it possible to use formica and what would be the best choice of glue for that material?
 I have a piece left over from a counter top I resurfaced. The bow is 68 long and 1 1/2 at the fades. I intended to hunt with it but have to get it to 35 lbs to be legal. If I can't I'll just use it for target and to practice form. I have a bum bow arm/shoulder so I can't manage more than 40.  
  I've taken a few deer with a compound so to get one with a bow I have crafted would be the
ultimate challenge, besides I'm not too fond of the wheels and pulleys, trads are much much prettier.

Offline PebblePlacement

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: Backing question
« Reply #1 on: June 03, 2013, 07:34:00 AM »
Back with wood and re-tiller.
=>>>====> MW <====<<<=

Offline PebblePlacement

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: June 03, 2013, 07:35:00 AM »
A little goes a long way.
=>>>====> MW <====<<<=

Online Roy from Pa

• Administrator
  • Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #3 on: June 03, 2013, 08:09:00 AM »
I would back it with a 1/8th thick piece of Hickory. Use Unibond 800 glue. I would induce some reflex when gluing it up.

Offline LESKEN2011

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #4 on: June 03, 2013, 08:18:00 AM »
You may want to trap the back a little with hickory on red oak, though. Hard maple might be a little more forgiving, as far as compression stress goes.
For by grace you have been saved through faith, and that not of yourselves; it is the gift of God, not of works, lest anyone should boast. Ephesians 2:8-9

Kenny from Mississippi, USA

Offline George Tsoukalas

• TG HALL OF FAME
  • Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #5 on: June 03, 2013, 08:54:00 AM »