Author Topic: Shooting in and draw weight....  (Read 321 times)

Offline DD9000

• Trad Bowhunter
Shooting in and draw weight....
« on: June 21, 2013, 12:05:00 PM »
Ok another rookie question where the answer will probably be something obvious that I should know already but     :)   I don't so here goes.....

I know that I should expect the Draw weight to drop some after a bow has been shot in for a bit.
But how much variance should I expect?

I am seeing around  10 pound difference from before shooting the bow to after shooting for a couple of hours...

If I unstring it and and let it rest for a couple of hours then the weight pops right back up to the initial weight.....

I'm new enough at this that I don't know if this is normal or signs of a problem. Is this something that I should worry about? Or do I just need to curb the paranoia   :D  

-David

Offline BCWV

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: Shooting in and draw weight....
« Reply #1 on: June 21, 2013, 12:40:00 PM »
I'm a rookie also so am interested in what the gurus have to say. In my very limited experience, I've lost as little as 2# and as much as 4 on my wood bows but haven't seen the increase you are.  I've only built 7 so far though, using osage, hickory, and a couple boo backed osage and ipe bows.
 What wood are you using and what type of bow?

Offline DD9000

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: June 21, 2013, 12:49:00 PM »
BCWV, This has been on a oak board bow.
I have only had it out shooting 3 times around 100 shots through it each time over a couple of hours.
So it may be something that just needs more time to settle in but don't know what I don't know so to speak    ;)  Only made two of them so far...

-David

Offline Nicon

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #3 on: June 21, 2013, 03:05:00 PM »
Another rookie here. Could it be a stretchy string?