Author Topic: First Bow Build.. Bendy Osage Bow Buildalong  (Read 5086 times)

Offline jeremy1517

• Trad Bowhunter
First Bow Build.. Bendy Osage Bow Buildalong
« on: August 01, 2013, 11:08:00 PM »
I received my Osage bow Stave from John at Hedgerow Selfbows, Thank You John.  I need any help I can receive. This is my First attempt to build a bow.

I will post progress pics and questions as I go along. John has been an awesome help but I don't want to pester him with all my questions.

First question. Which side of the stave should be the back of the bow and which is the belly?  (I know, stupid question, but I want to be sure). John has already done work to the stave. John said the back of the bow (part that faces away from you when drawing the bow) has a ring chased. He says the belly shows the grain.

Can anyone tell from these pictures which is the back (chased side) or which is the belly (grain side)

The first two pics are of the same side:

This is a picture of the other side:

Any thoughts?
"There is no institution more vital to our Nation's survival than the American Family. Here the seeds of personal character are planted, the roots of public virtue first nourished."    ---Ronald Reagan

Offline mwosborn

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: First Bow Build.. Bendy Osage Bow Buildalong
« Reply #1 on: August 01, 2013, 11:25:00 PM »
First two are the back.
Enjoy the hunt!  - Mitch

Offline jeremy1517

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: August 02, 2013, 12:20:00 AM »
For future knowledge, how can you tell?
"There is no institution more vital to our Nation's survival than the American Family. Here the seeds of personal character are planted, the roots of public virtue first nourished."    ---Ronald Reagan

Offline takefive

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #3 on: August 02, 2013, 01:55:00 AM »