Author Topic: Is This Bow on It's Way To Bow Heaven?  (Read 495 times)

Offline Japes4

• Trad Bowhunter
Is This Bow on It's Way To Bow Heaven?
« on: September 26, 2013, 02:17:00 PM »
Was sitting in the woods hunting the other day and noticed some small  marks in the belly of the bow, on both limbs. After doing some looking around, I am fearful this may be chrysalling   :confused:   hopefully it is just the urethane. what do you all think?  If it is chrysalling, should I be expecting a short lifespan from this bow. It is a Red Oak board bow backed with paper.  

"...there's more fun in hunting with the handicap of a bow than there is in hunting with the sureness of the gun."

Offline razorback

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: Is This Bow on It's Way To Bow Heaven?
« Reply #1 on: September 26, 2013, 02:32:00 PM »
Is the tiller the same on both limbs and are the marks in the same place. Can you post a pic of full draw and show where the spots are. I'm no expert but I'm thinking chrysals  :(
Keep the wind in your face and the sun at your back.

Offline PEARL DRUMS

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: September 26, 2013, 02:32:00 PM »
Your fears are correct. That's pushed up wood fibers.ie fret, chrysals.

Offline Bowjunkie

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #3 on: September 26, 2013, 02:55:00 PM »
Yes, and looks like they took some stain, so they were likely there since prior to finishing. How old is the bow?

Offline Japes4

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #4 on: September 26, 2013, 03:05:00 PM »
Bow is about  a month old. Have about  150-200 shots through it.
"...there's more fun in hunting with the handicap of a bow than there is in hunting with the sureness of the gun."

Offline PEARL DRUMS

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #5 on: September 26, 2013, 03:11:00 PM »