Author Topic: Bandsaw Question  (Read 852 times)

Offline Raf

• Trad Bowhunter
Bandsaw Question
« on: October 22, 2013, 06:21:00 PM »
Hi all, I'm fairly new to bow building, and so far, I have a few handtools and was thinking about picking up a bandsaw.

I don't have a ton of cash at my disposal, a local is selling a close to new 9" delta bandsaw for $40, would that do the job? I am starting off just doing board bows and am working on my first (68" red oak board bow).

So far, I have a surform rasp, a nicholson 4-way file, a handsaw and an antique draw knife (Works great!)

Offline macbow

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: Bandsaw Question
« Reply #1 on: October 22, 2013, 07:27:00 PM »
For just board bows the 9" will just do the job.

Most of the guys are going with about 14" and between 1 and 2 hp motors.
United Bowhunters of Mo
Comptons
PBS
NRA
VET
"A man shares his Buffalo". Ed Pitchkites

Offline ordcorpdw

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: October 22, 2013, 07:28:00 PM »
My first was with a few hand tools...bought a band saw and still not good enough with it to trust myself to not jack up a nice piece of wood. Hand tools keep it slow and safe...hard to put wood back. Just my two cents..

Offline red hill

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #3 on: October 22, 2013, 08:09:00 PM »
Raf, I have a 9" Ryobi bandsaw. It doesn't do well with split staves. It does do well with boards, bamboo, hickory backings and thin material.
However, I had to replace the factory blade with a larger blade more suited for cutting heavier material. It still isn't stout enough for my osage staves but it will handle osage boards I order from Pine Hollow or 3 Rivers.

$40 is a good price if it is in working order.

Offline Sam Harper

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #4 on: October 22, 2013, 08:53:00 PM »
My thoughts on bandsaws:

http://poorfolkbows.com/bandsaw.htm
There are strange things done in the midnight sun by the men who moil for gold.

Offline TheZK

• Trad Bowhunter