Author Topic: new member with some questions  (Read 842 times)

Offline Rdog

• Trad Bowhunter
new member with some questions
« on: October 25, 2013, 05:50:00 PM »
This is my first post, I am a novice to archery and bow building, but want to get into it as much as I can.  In the past I have had a couple of compounds and did some bow fishing growing up in south Florida, but now I'm getting back into archery with traditional gear after a 19 year hiatus.

I am interested in making as much of the gear as I can, with hope of bow hunting deer with it next year, or as soon as possible.

I started to work two board bows, but have a simple question before I get too far.  When do you transition from a long string tiller to a short string? And is the short string the same length as the finished bowstring?

Thanks for any help.
-Rob.

Online Pat B

• TG HALL OF FAME
  • Trad Bowhunter
Re: new member with some questions
« Reply #1 on: October 25, 2013, 06:30:00 PM »
Rob, I floor tiller to about 4" of tip movement. If all looks well I long string tiller(string just bow length) until I get 6" to 8" of tip movement. If all is well I add the short string(regular bow string) at low brace of 3" to 4". Now you can really see if the limbs are bending evenly and together and how the string tracks.
Make the most of all that comes and the least of all that goes!
TGMM Family of the Bow

Offline Echatham

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: October 25, 2013, 06:37:00 PM »