Author Topic: Quiver Build Along  (Read 598 times)

Offline themiser3

• Trad Bowhunter
Quiver Build Along
« on: December 17, 2013, 02:30:00 PM »
So about a week ago, I started to build myself a quiver.  I am very new to leather working having only done a few small items before now, but with the guidance of   this  I think that I can pull this off.  

Now, as of today, I have finally received all of the tools that I believe I'll need to complete this.  Also to keep in mind, in general, I hate any type of tooling design on leather.  I enjoy the natural look and feel of a well oiled leather, so that's what I'll be working towards.  

The overall design will be achieved from the above link.  

Currently I am here:
  [/url] [/IMG]  

The strips are going to be sewn along the inside of the quiver with 3/32 music wire for rigidity.  The quiver will be approximately 22" long with an open top and midsection for retrieval.  

More updates will hopefully be coming, but today is my birthday and next week is vacation.  I hope be done before vacation starts.  

Sean

Online Roy from Pa

• Administrator
  • Trad Bowhunter
Re: Quiver Build Along
« Reply #1 on: December 17, 2013, 03:20:00 PM »
Looking good, Sean

Offline bornofmud

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: December 17, 2013, 04:26:00 PM »
By music wire do you mean a guitar string?  Haven't heard of music wire before.  Looking forward to seeing more!

Offline themiser3

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #3 on: December 17, 2013, 04:39:00 PM »
Look at amazon for music wire.  It does include guitar string but is more related to the properties of being able to bend without taking set or creating a crease.  So it is able to flex and retain its strength and shape unlike copper wire, which when you bend it it stays that way.

Offline themiser3

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #4 on: December 17, 2013, 04:52:00 PM »