Author Topic: Hophornbeam, first try...  (Read 600 times)

Offline Sockrsblur

• TGMM Member
  • Trad Bowhunter
  • Lake Placid Ironman Triathlete 2011, 2012, 2018
Hophornbeam, first try...
« on: April 10, 2014, 08:02:00 AM »
So guys this is my first try at this. I will admit to being one of those guys that reads and reads with great intrest but never scraped a piece of wood. My thought was to practice on some white wood then when I feel like I have a chance at success get a piece of osage from Mike Yancey. I love the idea of going to the woods and get my own staves but most everything I cut does not look to good after splitting. Any and all tips and constructive criticism you might have the patience to pass along are graciously recieved.
TGMM Family of the Bow
"Hunt Hard!" Uncle Bud
PBS Member

Offline Sockrsblur

• TGMM Member
  • Trad Bowhunter
Re: Hophornbeam, first try...
« Reply #1 on: April 10, 2014, 08:09:00 AM »
This winter I cut a few sections out of two fallen trees that we always called iron wood after a lot of reading here I believe them to be Hophornbeam.

Most all of this I find has significant twist these two were fairly straight.

TGMM Family of the Bow
"Hunt Hard!" Uncle Bud
PBS Member

Offline Bowjunkie

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: April 10, 2014, 08:18:00 AM »
How long was it down? White wood degrades rapidly. Unless I know for sure that it was alive and healthy when it went down, and then was down no more than a couple weeks, I'd keep looking, no matter how nice it looked otherwise.

Offline LittleBen

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #3 on: April 10, 2014, 08:31:00 AM »
Nice James.

I agree with Jeff that if it was down too long the wood may be ddecaying already. Since it looks like it was off the ground it'll probably be OK a little longer ... how long no one knows.