3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: Help me pick my arrows. Newbie help!  (Read 659 times)

Offline Red Boar

• Trad Bowhunter
Help me pick my arrows. Newbie help!
« on: March 04, 2008, 11:58:00 AM »
Hello all...I am new to traditional archery (I've been bowhunting for about 16 years).  I have a JD Berry Renaissance on the way. Specs are 47 lbs. at 28.  I'll be shooting at 26.5 inches. I am open to both aluminum and carbon.  My arrows should probably be 27 inches, correct?  I'll be matching it to Silver Flame heads in the 125 gr. variety...again, sound correct?  Thanks in advance for your advice and help to a newbie.     ;)  

Red

BTW: any thoughts on this bow...did I make a good choice?
Treadway "Black Swamp"
Super Shrew
'62 Kodiak Magnum

Offline Red Boar

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: Help me pick my arrows. Newbie help!
« Reply #1 on: March 04, 2008, 12:20:00 PM »
P.S.  I am thinking about Gold Tip Traditional XT's in 3355 and 27 inches.  Does this sound about right?  Thanks again.
Treadway "Black Swamp"
Super Shrew
'62 Kodiak Magnum

Offline carparcher

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: March 04, 2008, 12:26:00 PM »
Red Boar,
   I would go a bit stiffer than that.  Everyone has their own preferance, but I like a stiff, heavy shaft.  I used to shoot Gold Tip 5575 w/ weight tubes for added punch and had success w/ them the past couple years.  Just recently I switched to Easton Axis shafts and have had great luck w/ their smaller diameter.  They penatrate fantastic.  If you have the option, I would shoot a couple different shafts and see which one flies best and which one YOU like best.  Have fun and keep up posted.

Timothy

Offline Red Boar

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #3 on: March 04, 2008, 12:29:00 PM »