Author Topic: My first bow - Questions  (Read 629 times)

Offline ColonelSandersLite

• Trad Bowhunter
My first bow - Questions
« on: December 17, 2014, 07:51:00 PM »
Well, it's actually my second, but it's the first to survive shooting anyways  ;) .

Layout:

Full Draw:

Same with some idealized lines for reference:

Some detail shots (please forgive my crappy camera):

It's drawing 42# @ 26" (40 was my goal).  Material is quartersawn red oak from menards.  Backed with Drywall tape for safety and a thin layer of unbleached muslin to hide the tape.

So, questions:
1: I'm new to archery (only been at it a few months), and this bow was a 12 pound increase in draw weight over my previous bow, and it's also a different design (the old one was an english longbow, I didn't make it).  Would the increased hand shock I'm noticing be due to those differences or is it a problem with my tiller or tip thickness or something?  I'm afraid I don't have enough experience with bows to really say if it's a lot of hand shock or it's really just a little.  All I can say is that it's more.

2: From my research, I know that these mollegabets perform best when the tips are as light as possible.  Are mine too thick or about right?  This is my only working bow at the moment, so I'm not really willing to risk going overboard on thinning the tips down, but if someone with more experience than I have wants to give me some safe numbers I would be much obliged.  If I had another working bow, I would be more willing to experiment...

3: Pretty much everything I can find in regards to handle thickness pertains to bows with a cutout arrow shelf.  Conservatively, how thin can the handle be without one?  I don't have an interest in bows with a cutout, and the current handle just feels too thick to me at the moment.

4: I would love to hear any constructive criticism by more experienced bowyers than myself.

Offline macbow

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: My first bow - Questions