Author Topic: Turkish style bow  (Read 1190 times)

Offline mikkekeswick

• Trad Bowhunter
Turkish style bow
« on: January 29, 2015, 03:43:00 AM »
I have finally got around to having a bit of free time to use my new Turkish style form. I'm just going plain on the first one with a laminated flooring boo riser with a micarta I beam. Bamboo again for the limb lams, black glass for the belly and clear for the back.
It's 48 inch nock to nock, I'm gluing it up at 1 1/2 width but where I am stuck is the taper rate and lam thickness......
I've made a few Turkish hornbows so know the taper rate they need to bend correctly and what thickness gives you what but how to translate those figures to a glass bow? Well i'm not experienced enough to do that yet!
I'll take a picture of the finished form and some measurements and post them here this afternoon.
Has anybody out there made something similar and would care to share tapers, thicknesses etc?
Any ideas at all are welcome!

Offline fujimo

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: Turkish style bow
« Reply #1 on: January 29, 2015, 11:42:00 AM »
chat to kenh- he made a scythian bow a little while ago!

Offline fujimo

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: January 30, 2015, 09:29:00 AM »
you gotta keep us up to full speed on this one Mike- we all love these asian bows- thats gotta be next on my list- just in two minds whether to go with a scythian, or a mygar/hun

Online KenH

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #3 on: January 30, 2015, 11:04:00 AM »
Hi Mike;

I know my Scythian is radically different with all it's reflex and deflex, but it's the same 48".

It's 1.5" wide as well, with the taper startin at midlimb.  The total stack height here, to get my desired 35# @28" is .020" with an added .07" "riser".  That's .03 glass back lam, 2x .07 full length wood lams, 2x .07 'riser' lams faired into the center of the set-back handle area, and a .03 glass belly lam.