Author Topic: how do you go from log to lams?  (Read 911 times)

Offline scrub-buster

• Trad Bowhunter
how do you go from log to lams?
« on: February 11, 2015, 08:40:00 PM »
I need some advice on what to do with this log.  I cut it yesterday evening and split it today.  It is super heavy and dark red.  When I busted it in half I found the grain looks just like a curly osage tree I cut a few years ago.  I split that tree mostly into staves before I realized what it was.  I tried to make a selfbow out of it but it broke.  I don't think this curly wood is strong enough for selfbows.  I guess the best thing to do is to take it to a saw mill and have them cut it up for me.  The bottom section of the trunk is still in the woods.  I'll cut it and take it to the mill to.  I talked to Soy and he suggested 2" thick slabs.  I have zero knowledge about laminated bows.  What is the best way to season the slabs?  Should I seal them all the way around with polyurethane?  Should I give the guy at the mill any special instructions?  Is it even worth messing with?  I'm totally lost on this stuff.  I'm a selfbow guy.

This is where I stopped with it.  

I sanded a piece smooth to see how the grain would look.

Here is how the curly selfbow looked when it broke.

AKA Osage Outlaw

Offline soy

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: how do you go from log to lams?
« Reply #1 on: February 11, 2015, 08:44:00 PM »
:notworthy:    :eek:    :clapper:

Offline fujimo

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: February 11, 2015, 09:19:00 PM »
If you would like, I can chat to a good mate of mine that was in the music wood mill and supply business. He will know the right way to go ahead.
First thing though, I would only mill it with a good horizontal band mill, and not a circular mill, you will waste too much of the good wood in a 3/8" or more kerf.
He will know best for grain orientation, thickness  etc etc
???

Offline BowWright

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #3 on: February 11, 2015, 09:45:00 PM »