Author Topic: Bowyer etiquette  (Read 610 times)

Offline ouachitamac

• Trad Bowhunter
Bowyer etiquette
« on: August 14, 2015, 10:52:00 PM »
So.... I may have stepped Over the line with asking about a bows specs and trying to build one.  I am new to this and I am not trying to reinvent the wheel, and def do not want to waste time and money on something that will not work. Lol. So I figured I could just base my build off of a proven design.  What do yall think?
Genesis 27:3

Online jess stuart

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: Bowyer etiquette
« Reply #1 on: August 14, 2015, 11:13:00 PM »
What type of bow are you wanting to build?  I don't think  you could reinvent the wheel if you tried.  Just about everything has been tried before.  following a proven patter or design is sound wisdom.  Look at some of Binghams Projects designs.  They have been helping do it yourself bowyers for years and years they must be doing something correct.  
No you certainly did not step over any line.  Good luck on your build.

Offline ouachitamac

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: August 14, 2015, 11:31:00 PM »
Thanks for that. New bows are expensive. Lol. I love to build things. My kids are gonna be the same way:D   I am going to build a deflex/reflex one piece, narrow taper limbs. It will have a thicker lam stack but thinner profile. 62 to 64" tip to tip. Bamboo and walnut. Anyway, on another site a guy pm' me and basically told me not to use anyone else's design because it is real tough for bowyers making a living at it. Either that or he was upset that I said I could make a 1000 dollar bow and  could do it for 75 bucks. Haha.  Anyway. Thanks guys. All opinions are welcome. And build tips too:)

Offline mikkekeswick

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #3 on: August 15, 2015, 02:26:00 AM »
Well done if you manage to make a glass bow for 75$....if you manage it let me know how!!!

Offline macbow

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #4 on: August 15, 2015, 09:51:00 AM »
May have over stated the $1000 vs $75 .