Author Topic: Hickory bow set?  (Read 675 times)

Offline tnhighlander

• Trad Bowhunter
Hickory bow set?
« on: August 19, 2015, 12:48:00 PM »
Hey guys, I am new to the forum.  I have been really getting into traditional and primitive archery for about 2 years.  I have been reading this forum for awhile and there is so much knowledge here, I wanted some expert advice.  I have started building hickory flat bows from some staves I cut on my farm.  My first attempt, I violated the outer ring of the bow and it splintered on the final tillering.  My second attempt has gone really well, bow looks great and I am almost done with it.  66 inches long, about 50 pounds at 27 inches.  My problem is it seems to be taking more set every time I tiller it and check the draw weight.  Right now it is right at 3 inches of set, last time it was at about 2 1/2 inches.  Have I done something wrong or is there a way to fix this?  Would heat treating make it better.  Like I said I am really new to this, but I am really enjoying every aspect of this, it is so addictive.  Thanks for any advice.

Online Mad Max

• TG HALL OF FAME
  • Trad Bowhunter
Re: Hickory bow set?
« Reply #1 on: August 19, 2015, 01:44:00 PM »
Stop working on it.
Bring it in the house with A/C
Weight it in grams if you can.
Keep a log on the weight.
when it stops losing weight you can work on it, bringing it back in the house while you are not working on it.
I have not heat treated Hickory but I sure you can and put some reflex in it at the same time

good luck

Someone else will chime in for more Info

Don't get in a Hurry
I would rather fail at something above my means, than to succeed at something  beneath my means  
}}}}===============>>

Offline tnhighlander

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: August 19, 2015, 05:07:00 PM »
Thank you.  Great idea.

Offline KellyG

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #3 on: August 19, 2015, 05:30:00 PM »