Author Topic: Ash  (Read 858 times)

Offline Mitch Edwards

• Trad Bowhunter
Ash
« on: August 31, 2016, 09:29:00 PM »
Ok I'm pretty new to making bows I've made one board bow out of red oak with a canvas back and one failed attempt at a Osage self bow years ago. My question is what type of bow is ash (not sure which species just that it's very light in color and very straight grain) best suited for. I've got several pieces that have been sealed and aged. All have been split in half (about 14" diameter) so they were easier to handle. They are roughly 8' long. My original plan was to make spear shaft with them but I don't need that many spears. Anyway any info for a very green newbie bowyer would be much appreciated. Thanks gang

Online tippit

• TG HALL OF FAME
  • Trad Bowhunter
Re: Ash
« Reply #1 on: August 31, 2016, 10:13:00 PM »
Eastern Woodland Indian bows were basically made from white wood...Hickory, Ash, Locust, etc.  Look up the Sudbury bow and if you can find a copy of The Bent Stick by Comstock...all about making white wood bows.
TGMM Family of the Bow
VP of Consumption MK,LLC

Offline George Tsoukalas

• TG HALL OF FAME
  • Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: August 31, 2016, 10:18:00 PM »
Mitch, you've made a few so that's good.

Ash is a decent bow wood though I'm not too fond of it because it usually chrysals on me.

I'd go 2 inches wide with a 4 inch handle and 1.5 to 2 inch fades.

Double your draw and add 20-25% for a length.

More on my site.

http://traditionalarchery101.com/

Jawge

Offline Mad Max

• TG HALL OF FAME
  • Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #3 on: August 31, 2016, 10:30:00 PM »
I would rather fail at something above my means, than to succeed at something  beneath my means  
}}}}===============>>

Offline Mitch Edwards

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #4 on: August 31, 2016, 11:31:00 PM »