Author Topic: My first laminated bow  (Read 1023 times)

Online Trenton G.

• Trad Bowhunter
My first laminated bow
« on: November 03, 2016, 10:16:00 AM »
Hi everyone. This is my first attempt at a laminated bow. I used the Bingham 60 inch recurve plan, and was shooting for around 55@28. Unfortunately, it came out WAY over what I wanted, and ended up around 83. I got it down to 75, but I was worried to remove any more material. I couldn't understand what had happened, so I called my buddy who had lent me the form. Turns out he had given me his form for a 58 inch recurve as opposed to a 60 inch recurve. I know that will raise my draw weight, but I don't think that it would cause me to overshoot by 22 pounds. Anyone have any advice that could help me later on?
I built this before I was a member, but I came on here daily and read all of the posts, so a huge thanks to all you guys for the useful information that you've put on here. Without it, I might not have gotten a bow at all!
Anyways, the bow is pretty simple, the riser is just strips of mahogany, sandwiching two pieces of maple with a strip of Brazilian Teak in the middle. The limbs are bocote.

Offline JamesV

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: My first laminated bow
« Reply #1 on: November 03, 2016, 10:28:00 AM »
You did a very nice job on your first bow. The bright side is that you get to build another bow then another and another. Using your data and Stew Miller's stack calculator, you should be able to dial in exactly on the next stack.

Welcome to the gang from the Mississippi Delta.

James
Proud supporter of Catch a Dream Foundation
-----------------------------------
When you are having a bad day always remember: Everyone suffers at their own level.

« Reply #2 on: November 03, 2016, 10:32:00 AM »