Author Topic: First bow: 66" osage selfbow  (Read 1389 times)

Offline geraldius

• Trad Bowhunter
First bow: 66" osage selfbow
« on: January 04, 2017, 12:14:00 PM »
I'm totally new to archery and bow-making -- this is the result of my first attempt.

I want to thank members of this board for the valuable bow-making tips and advice that I found through searching and reading numerous threads.

Here are pictures of my first bow build. It's a 66" nock to nock osage selfbow, tillered to 50lb @ 28".

I first got interested in doing this after my wife suggested we get a bow for my adult son for Christmas a couple years ago. We couldn't find one available on short notice, but the search exposed me to the idea of making one. Being a crafty guy, I dove in headfirst. First I researched it to the point of knowing that I wanted to make an osage selfbow. Forums such as this one were invaluable in the process. Anyway, on to the bow:

I started out with a somewhat 'challenged' bow stave that I won on **** for about $40. It still had the bark and was roughly split. When I got it I discovered that it had a significant dogleg at the center of the stave. Since this had to be the grip area, it seemed a natural way to have a center-shot grip design.

As this is my first post I'll start out with a single photo to see if I can post it properly. Will follow up with more details and photos.

This is my son on Christmas day trying the bow out for the first time in the back yard.
Shooting a 30" arrow.

Offline geraldius

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: First bow: 66" osage selfbow
« Reply #1 on: January 04, 2017, 12:46:00 PM »
The stave had a lot of pin knots that I had to work around. The worst was a large pin knot cluster at the edge of one of the limbs. So I had to thicken that spot quite a bit to limit flex there. As a result the tiller may appear to be 'segmented'.

Offline geraldius

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: January 04, 2017, 12:55:00 PM »