Author Topic: Bow profile thoughts  (Read 1164 times)

Offline Carpdaddy

• Trad Bowhunter
Bow profile thoughts
« on: January 21, 2017, 03:25:00 PM »
Hunting season just ended here in Ky so it's time to think about building my next season hunting bow. I only build a couple per year for myself and my hunting partner so I'm just a shade tree builder. Most real bowyers probably stay with a tried and proven profile but doing it as my hobby I like to change it up. With my stuff ordered I am beginning to think about what I want. I want to go longer than normal, 62-64", and want to come forward or reflex quite a bit. I am going to post a few pictures in hopes of getting some good input from you guys on what you like and why. I hung a couple of my recent years builds and the bottom is a piece of aluminum in some shapes I'm thinking about. I would appreciate some thoughts from some of you, thanks.
Stumpshooting; Slinging sticks with sticks toward the origin of the sticks.

Offline Carpdaddy

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: Bow profile thoughts
« Reply #1 on: January 21, 2017, 03:26:00 PM »

Offline Carpdaddy

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: January 21, 2017, 03:26:00 PM »

Offline Sixby

• Tradbowhunter
  • Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #3 on: January 21, 2017, 04:23:00 PM »
Middle bow has a great profile if you reflex it a bit just past the fades and leave the rest as you see it.
Top bow will have less stability because the reflex is evenly distributed through the entire limb.
I personally do not like the bottom Aluminum profile at all.

God bless, Steve

Offline BenBow

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #4 on: January 21, 2017, 04:47:00 PM »
X2
But his bow will remain steady, and his hands will be skillful; because of the hands of the Mighty One of Jacob, because of the Shepherd, the Rock of Israel,  (Genesis 49:24 [NETfree])

Offline Carpdaddy

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #5 on: January 21, 2017, 05:56:00 PM »