Author Topic: Douglas fur?  (Read 1236 times)

Offline Full Draw Too

• Trad Bowhunter
Douglas fur?
« on: July 06, 2017, 12:58:00 PM »
Hi guys, need some EXPERT advice and I know I can get it here!I have some Douglas Fur and was wondering if I could use this for limb core wood? they are cut at 36"x 1.175"x .130

Offline Wolftrail

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: Douglas fur?
« Reply #1 on: July 06, 2017, 01:07:00 PM »
I would say yes, never use it for the back though. Are you building a glass bow or all wood...?

Offline Full Draw Too

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: July 06, 2017, 01:33:00 PM »
I'm building a takedown recurve with Glass. My second bow that I just started so I'm really new at this.
Pat
<><

Offline Brock

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #3 on: July 06, 2017, 02:51:00 PM »
You can use about anything for limb core if glass laminated....though some are better than others.

Not sure why Douglas Fir would not work....if not a good performer you will know next time.
Keep em sharp,

Ron Herman
Compton's Traditional Bowhunters
Backcountry Hunters & Anglers
PBS Assoc since 1988
NRA Life
USAF Retired (1984-2004)

« Reply #4 on: July 07, 2017, 12:49:00 AM »
IMHO...  I would go with a harder wood on the belly core...  How many lbs. are you shootin' for??

Online KenH

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #5 on: July 07, 2017, 07:41:00 AM »
Nothing wrong with Douglas Fir for a belly lam -- I use it often when prototyping a new bow design because it's cheap.

Douglas Fur, on the other hand, I can never get combed to look right under clear glass...
Living Aboard the s/v ManCave

Offline mwosborn

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #6 on: July 07, 2017, 08:21:00 AM »
Originally posted by KenH:
Nothing wrong with Douglas Fir for a belly lam -- I use it often when prototyping a new bow design because it's cheap.

Douglas Fur, on the other hand, I can never get combed to look right under clear glass...
Need a fine tooth comb.    :D
Enjoy the hunt!  - Mitch

Offline Full Draw Too

• Trad Bowhunter