3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: Feather Quality  (Read 375 times)

Offline Stringdancer

• Trad Bowhunter
Feather Quality
« on: March 09, 2008, 07:22:00 PM »
I have been using TruFlight feathers for many years, and lately have found the quality to be poor to say the least. Has anyone else found these feathers to be lacking in quality, or is it just me? I'm just tired of spending good money for feathers, and getting very low quality.

Mike
" FEAR THE MAN WITH ONE BOW "

Offline Magyar

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: Feather Quality
« Reply #1 on: March 09, 2008, 08:22:00 PM »
Mike,

I recently switched from Gateway to Trueflight for the same reason.  I'm able to examin them before I purchase them.  If you have to mail order them, then your kind of stuck with them unless they are realy bad.  Sort of like our politicians!!!   :biglaugh:
paulfields

Offline waiting4fall

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: March 09, 2008, 09:41:00 PM »
AMG feathers are very good.

Offline Orion

• TG HALL OF FAME
  • Trad Bowhunter
  • Contributing Member
« Reply #3 on: March 09, 2008, 11:11:00 PM »
Feather quality is going downhill.  Not really the feather merchants' fault.  Feathers are a byproduct of turkeys grown for food, and they are grown so fast nowadays that they don't live long enough to mature and develop larger/longer, well veined and oiled feathers.  Unfortunately, that's not a joke.  Pretty much have to go to wild birds to get good feathers now.

Offline baretraks

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #4 on: March 09, 2008, 11:20:00 PM »
I hand processed some turkey feathers last year and they held up better than any I've ever used. IMHO they're a lot more durable and I think their a lot prettier than any storebought feathers I've had.