Author Topic: Drum Sanders  (Read 5016 times)

Offline C. Johnson

• Trad Bowhunter
Drum Sanders
« on: January 25, 2018, 08:26:00 AM »
So, I have a little tax return money coming my way and I want to invest in a proper drum sander. I've been using a shop built attachment to my spindle sander.  It works fine, but I'm getting to a point where I need to invest in a better piece of equipment to grind lams with.

In my non-bow building life, I'm a licensed plumber.  I've learned over the years to never skimp on tools (or work boots).  Buy something good and cry once.

My thoughts at this point are that I'll go one of two ways.

Option 1: Jet 10-20. Woodcraft has this machine for about$775. Since I doubt I'll do much more than grind lams with it, the small size might not be an issue. But, I can't help but feel like I'm at the Ford dealership looking at a new F150.

I'm thinking, "Well, this is probably plenty of truck".

But my gut is telling me, "Don't be a chicken ass". Buy the F350 with the turbo diesel. "You won't regret the extra capability and room to grow in the future".

That leads me to option 2. The performax 16-32.  Probably more than I "need", but is a lot more substantial piece of equipment. The price is quite a bit higher though. I'm thinking it's probably worth it.

I might consider something from Grizzly, but, to be honest, Grizzly seems like something from Harbor Freight compared to Jet tools.  I may be wrong though.

I'd love to have some input from other guys making 15-20 bows a year and looking to expand a little.

So, what do you guys think?

Online kennym

• TG HALL OF FAME
  • Trad Bowhunter
Re: Drum Sanders
« Reply #1 on: January 25, 2018, 08:38:00 AM »
I have several Grizzly tools and can't compare them to Harbor freight , or Delta but the Jet 10-20 weighs in at 96 # and the Griz 10" weighs in at 220# so either she's built or just fat!    :)  .

Of 2 bandsaws and 2 tablesaws I've had from Griz, the fences were dead on for ripping on all of them.