3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: Gonna give it another try...........  (Read 216 times)

Offline cmh

• Trad Bowhunter
Gonna give it another try...........
« on: March 29, 2008, 05:17:00 PM »
Hello, well to make a long story short I have not properly pulled a string in years. For the last seven years I have had increased problems with my back. A couple car wrecks (arthritis) and a slight curviture of my back.Now, I started shooting a kid size long bow when I was four. As I grew up I got a compound and then eventually got a takedown recurve. Now, all the doctor can say is take some of these.... but no help on the string pulling. When I pull the reurve or compound I have back I feel a sharp intense pain and the muscles between my shoulder blades start to spasm. I know this is a traditional bow forum but I have to admit I went and shot a Mathews compound... and I could shoot it   ;)  Unfortunately it just does not light my fire anymore. I did the compound thing years ago.... the traditional thing has me bad   :)  Now I am not writing this for sympathy or anything like that. I would hope maybe a few of you might have some suggestions about how I could possibly strengthen my back up so I could pull the traditional string again. I am about to finish my apprenticeship and would like to order a nice custom longbow or recurve and do some serious shooting again. And before anyone ask, I tried the doctors dope and it did nothing to help me so I will not go that way   :archer:    Thanks in advance,  Craig
ISAIH 41:10 ROMANS 10:13
GOD BLESS..........

>>>>--------------->

Offline ishiwannabe

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: Gonna give it another try...........
« Reply #1 on: March 29, 2008, 05:33:00 PM »