3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: Minimum bow weight for Moose  (Read 10204 times)

Online PrimitivePete

• Contributing Member
  • Trad Bowhunter
Minimum bow weight for Moose
« on: January 30, 2019, 09:32:30 PM »
For all my Moose hunting heroes, what would be the minimum setup you'd advise for hunting Moose

Thanks in Advance
Pete

Offline Hummer3T

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: Minimum bow weight for Moose
« Reply #1 on: January 30, 2019, 09:56:02 PM »
Im no expert moose hunter, but have taken with 49 lbs at 28 bow with FOC arrow, 200 grain broadhead, 100 grain insert and 200+ grain shaft.  with extras around 560-580 grains .

combo lead to a pass through at twenty yards.

in saskatchewan you have to draw 40lbs @28 to hunt big game.

My broadhead is german kinetics which I find makes a very effective cutter.
« Last Edit: February 01, 2019, 11:29:32 PM by Hummer3T »
Life is about learning from your mistakes!

Chek-mate hunter I 62" riser with 60" limbs 49&42lbs@28

Samick Sage 62" 50lbs@28

Big Jim Mountain Monarch Recurve  60 inch / 50 lbs @ 28

Online Terry Lightle

• TG HALL OF FAME
  • Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: January 31, 2019, 06:33:11 AM »
Killed 1 in Newfoundland with a 49# Caribow,but shot a 700 grain arrow with 2 blade Zwickey Delta
Terry
Compton Traditional Bowhunters Life Member

Online The Whittler

• TG HALL OF FAME
  • Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #3 on: January 31, 2019, 10:00:13 AM »
The same setup you have for deer, they are just a big deer well really big :-). I know some guys that have shot them with 40# with no problems. Just do your part and all will be OK.

Online The Whittler

• TG HALL OF FAME
  • Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #4 on: January 31, 2019, 10:02:29 AM »