3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: Bowfishing arrow question(s)  (Read 298 times)

Offline John C Keith

• Trad Bowhunter
Bowfishing arrow question(s)
« on: April 02, 2008, 04:03:00 AM »
Hey all:

I am a newbie bowfisherman (first season coming soon) and I was curious about bow fishing arrows.  I just got a nice set up (Thanks Ron!!) with a 45# Bear 76'er, simple reel and fiberglass arrow with point.  

The arrow is not together and I wanted to make sure I put it together right.  I make my own woodies, so not new to arrow making, but are there any special concerns with bow fishing arrows?  Can I use my Ferr-l-tite on the points and Duco on the nock?  Or is there something else I need to use on the fiberglass shaft?

I am planning on trying the AMS safety slide system and a home brew style (cable/slide) that Ron showed me for line attachment.  Gonna have a back up arrow, just in case   ;) .

What say you?

Thanks
John
Michigan Traditional Bowhunters
Michigan Bowhunters

Its not about the weapon used, its about the adventure involved.

Offline Stone Knife

• TG HALL OF FAME
  • Trad Bowhunter
Re: Bowfishing arrow question(s)
« Reply #1 on: April 02, 2008, 05:14:00 AM »
I use powerbond glue for both. Watch this video from 3Rivers    Gluing on fish points
Proverbs 12:27
The lazy do not roast any game,
but the diligent feed on the riches of the hunt.

John 14:6

Offline CJ5

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: April 02, 2008, 05:33:00 AM »
I use two part, slow curing epoxy on the heads, and dab of Fastset for the nocks. Some people stake their heads on as well with a roll pin or small nail for added security. I omit this step though, and haven't had any trouble.

Offline James Wrenn

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #3 on: April 02, 2008, 07:18:00 AM »