3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: Jeffery archery  (Read 993 times)

Offline Jcarroll611

• Trad Bowhunter
Jeffery archery
« on: January 17, 2020, 06:30:07 PM »
A guy at my local rod and gun club and I started talking about traditional archery after some Kessler and a few beers. He’s a retired boilermaker and 86 years old. He has the best hunting stories, anyway he’s always been a mentor of mine and told me to follow him home so he could give me a Jeffery bow. I wanted to pay for it but he wouldn’t let me. I think it’s a jeffery royal hunter? It’s a take down and has a set of 55# and 68# limbs. I have no experience with a take down. Do I crank the bolts down all the way and let it rip or does it require other messing around with? If both limbs are the same length can I use the same string ? Thanks guys I’m excited to shoot it.

Online jrstegner

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: Jeffery archery
« Reply #1 on: January 17, 2020, 07:28:55 PM »
Those are excellent bows. Tighten the limb bolts snuggly, but do not overtighten or you will crack the fiberglass. You can use the same string for both sets of limbs, although due to small differences in tuning I would prefer to use a different string for each set of limbs.

Offline mangonboat

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: January 17, 2020, 07:31:38 PM »