3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: Poundage question?  (Read 547 times)

Offline Oliverstacy

• Trad Bowhunter
Poundage question?
« on: April 15, 2008, 11:39:00 PM »
I have only been shooting traditional for around 15 months so I’m relatively new to this side (I’ve not shot my compound since) but I did shoot a compound for 25 years prior, so I guess I’m not new either.

Poundage…wish I would have listened to the masses and started lower than I did but when your dumb ya half to be tuff.  I started last spring with my Savannah 50@28” drawn to 29” so it’s around 52-53#’s.  I can shoot this very comfortably now for an extended session if I shoot 3 arrows at a time and don’t over do it.  I can do it accurately out to around 15-18 yards.  I learned the hard way to get the form down and worry about the rest later…this took about three weeks to learn and a very sore body.  I have since learned to shoot only as long as I can concentrate on perfect form…this may be 12 arrows or it may be 70 arrows, but I stop shooting when I get frustrated or tired.

Now for the question???  Could I buy a Savannah that is rated for #60@28 or is this too much of a stretch/weight jump?  I know there are several good custom jobs out there for that kind of money but I like the grip of my Savannah and I shoot it well, not to mention I like the bow’s looks.  I’m not a speed nut and pride myself on accuracy…speed isn’t everything.  Is it too early to jump up that much?  I don’t have access to a #60 longbow to shoot for a period of time to see how it affects my concentration.