3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: My Record for Weight Loss on a Bow  (Read 2674 times)

Online tippit

• TG HALL OF FAME
  • Trad Bowhunter
My Record for Weight Loss on a Bow
« on: April 11, 2020, 01:36:50 PM »
Spending a lot of time in my shop...reducing weight on my older bows and forging knives.  I started shooting traditional bows in 1980.  For several years I just shot Robertson Stykbows and Great Northerns.  This Robertson Heritage longbow was one of my first real custom bows (even though it was used when I bought it).  Robertson Heritage Stykbow 68" 68#@28...Reduced weight by 30#.
Now 68" 38#@28 in nice tiller and shooting again after 40 years...tippit

TGMM Family of the Bow
VP of Consumption MK,LLC

Offline slowbowjoe

• Contributing Member
  • Trad Bowhunter
Re: My Record for Weight Loss on a Bow
« Reply #1 on: April 11, 2020, 02:13:18 PM »
That's quite a feat! I'm wondering how in the world you can reduce that much and still have a shootable bow (purely curiosity). Do you take down mostly the thickness, the width, or I'd guess both? Remove then replace laminations?

Offline wapitishooter

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: April 11, 2020, 03:16:02 PM »
I would like to know the process of reducing weight. If you would, like to know how you do it.

Offline Bob D

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #3 on: April 11, 2020, 03:23:54 PM »
I would also like to know how to do that properly. I have a whole wall of bows I couldn’t pull to save my life. Any knowledge about your methods you would be willing to pass on to an old crippled dub like me would be appreciated.