3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: HELP ! Need suggestions  (Read 286 times)

Offline Brad Whitfield

• Trad Bowhunter
HELP ! Need suggestions
« on: April 16, 2008, 12:34:00 PM »
I just purchased a new recurve that is 43# @ 28" I am looking for a carbon arrow set up for hunting with this bow. I have a 28 1/2 inch draw. What Carbon arrow (Brand/length/weights/broadhead combination etc.) do you (carbon shooters) think I should shoot out of this bow for hunting deer etc.  I have never shot carbons and I am not very technical so please, the easier the set up the better.
Thanks in advance for your assistance.

Brad

Offline Apex Predator

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: HELP ! Need suggestions
« Reply #1 on: April 16, 2008, 12:36:00 PM »
What final weight/length arrow are you looking for?
I didn't claw my way to the top of the food chain to eat vegetables!

Offline Brad Whitfield

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: April 16, 2008, 02:21:00 PM »
29 1/2 - 30 " arrow and don't know about total weight just the best arrow for hunting / game penetration.

Offline Brian Gillispie

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #3 on: April 16, 2008, 02:44:00 PM »
Hey Brad,

I have been chewing on the same problem.  I also have a 43#@28in,  I picked up some used Sitka Grizzly stiks at Sissipahaw.  They are 29.5 inches long and have the brass 75 grain insert.  I shot all different wt fieldpoints till I decided that the 125 gr flew best.  I have bought a neet dozen and now I need to decide If a different length will suit my bow or not.  So, I am off to the bow shop with their nice indoor range and arrow saw to experiment with a different configuration to find that sweet spot.