3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: On the River  (Read 1732 times)

Online Pine

• Contributing Member
  • Trad Bowhunter
On the River
« on: May 08, 2020, 05:46:55 PM »
I started shooting a bow and arrow when I was six years old.
I would spend the summer with my grandparents who lived on a lake. I would take my bow with me and shoot out in the yard and nearby treeline.
Then one day I was down the lake shore and these older boys I knew were shooting into the water.
They told me they were shooting carp.
That was so neat and they helped me get a jar lid attached to my bow and showed me how to wrap the heavy fishing line wrapped on the jar that was screwed to the jar lid.
They even gave me a fiberglass fishing arrow and I was all set.
Then they explained refraction to me, whatever that was and I started shooting in the swimming beach.
I couldn't understand why I always shot way over what I was shooting at.
Then one of them got a paper cup, filled it with sand and placed it in a little over a foot of water.
That was my target. Then again it was explained about refraction and after a while I could hit the paper cup.
Well that started it, I was hooked.
It's easier to fool someone than to convince them they have been fooled. Mark Twain

If you're afraid to offend, you can't be honest.

TGMM Family of the Bow

Online Pine

• Contributing Member
  • Trad Bowhunter
Re: On the River
« Reply #1 on: May 08, 2020, 05:50:36 PM »
Fast forward to my early teens and I had joined the boy scouts and one of the leaders lived on the small river that would occupy me right up into my mid twenties.
I would ride my bike the two miles to his house and go back to the river and stalk my way along the bank.