3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: Bohning fletch tape  (Read 1715 times)

Offline Sam McMichael

• TG HALL OF FAME
  • Trad Bowhunter
Bohning fletch tape
« on: May 29, 2020, 11:01:03 AM »
I am new to the use of fletch tape, and I have a question about its adhesiveness. I am making some arrows that are sealed with oil based polyurethane finish from Min-Wax. Any issues with the tape sticking to this finish? Thanks.
Sam

Offline Bldtrailer

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: Bohning fletch tape
« Reply #1 on: May 29, 2020, 11:21:54 AM »
The  issues I have had when it gets warm the tape seems to move :o ,you may need drops of glue at each end and middle( I no longer use tape)
As we get older our bow weight goes down and our body weight goes up, One of Lifes little jokes.
Bringing Archery to
 Wounded Warriors

Offline Huntschool

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: May 29, 2020, 11:37:21 AM »
I have been using it for years.... and I mean that.  Here are some "tricks" or procedures I use;

Wipe arrow with alcohol in the crest area.  I use alcohol because it is not strong enough to loosen cresting paint but will create a clean and I feel slightly "tacky" surface.  If no cresting or perhaps in your case based on oil based poly I would use acetone.  Lightly wipe with a dampened cloth, not wet.....

Place fletch in jig holder (clamp) and lightly (I mean lightly) sand bottom.

Then wipe bottom with acetone and allow to dry.  This only takes seconds and will remove any "sanding dust" debris from fletch.  (NOTE... You can use alcohol for this if you like)

Then put tape on fletch being careful to leave a small tag end (1/4") at rear of fletch.